Texting While Driving Will Be Illegal Across Texas Beginning September 1
Beginning September 1st, texting while driving will be illegal across the State of Texas.
The Houston Chronicle reports that Governor Greg Abbott signed House Bill 62 into law Tuesday. The ban goes into effect on Friday, September 1. According to KPRC, first time offenders will face a fine of up to $99, while repeat offenders can expect to pay $200.
After undergoing several amendments, the bill passed with allowances for texting while the vehicle is stopped at a red light, as well as using wireless device to operate the vehicle's stereo system. Drivers may also continue to use GPS services on their wireless devices.
Call me a cynic, but I feel like we'll see people across the state flagrantly violating the ban on a daily basis when they don't think police are around. The law will likely only make a small dent in the problem. But hey, maybe I'm wrong. I hope I am. What do you think?