New Law Requires Texas Drivers to Move Over or Slow Down
A new Texas law will provide TxDOT workers with the same protection afforded to emergency officials and tow trucks.
When the Move Over/Slow Down law takes effect September 1, drivers will be required to move over to another lane or lower their speed to 20 mph below the posted speed limit upon spotting TxDOT workers and parked vehicles with flashing blue or amber lights. Violators could face a fine of up to $2,000, and could serve jail time if the violation results in any injuries or property damage.
TxDOT is also reminding drivers that white speed limit sings with black numbers are official postings of the Texas Transportation Commission and are enforced even in the absence of visible construction activity. Drivers are also asked to remember that traffic fines double in work zones when workers are present, whether those workers are visible to drivers or not.