Watch It! Is It Against The Law To Not Use Your Blinker In Texas?
Ah, driving around in Texas. Sometimes it's rather wonderful to drive around here isn't it? When there's nothing but green as far as the eye can see.
But there's another thing about cruising in the Lone Star State that we all one point in our lives that we run into, someone not using their turn signal. It's...rather annoying to say the least, right? To not know where someone is going and potentially causing a crash is just not a good time.
When someone cuts you off without using their blinker, the reactions are multiple. Words we shouldn't repeat, yelling at the driver who can't hear us...there's so many we'd be here all day listing them. But is it unlawful to not use your blinker in the state?
Well depending on the circumstances, you could get fined for it.
The Situation That Could Land You A Fine For Not Using A Blinker In Texas
- A driver needs to use a turn signal every time they intend to turn, change lanes, or start from a parked position;
- A driver intending to turn a vehicle needs to signal continuously “for not less than the last 100 feet of movement” before the turn; and
- A driver may not use signals on only one side of a parked or disabled vehicle or use the signals as a courtesy or “do pass” signal to another driver approaching from the rear.
So yes it looks like not using your blinker in the state will result in a violation if someone sees it. How much could it run you? Well, it could cost you a hefty sum of over $200.
What if you keep neglecting your blinker and tally up a lot of violations? The Texas Department Of Public Safety states that you could lose your license if you have too many.
So, moral of the story? Use that blinker, Texas!