A former female teacher who worked in the Tomball Independent School District was sentenced to only 60 days in jail after pleading guilty to aggravated sexual abuse of a child under 14.

KUSJ-FM logo
Get our free mobile app

FOX NEWS reports that 32 year old Marka Bodine will also be required to register as a sex offender after her release.

Sexual Abuse of a Child Under 14

Authorities said Bodine began a sexual relationship when the boy was 13 years old. The Harris County Sheriff’s Office said during that time frame Bodine sent the boy  explicit photographs and videos.

The boy reported the abuse to both the school and the Tomball Police Department and Bodine was arrested in April 2021.

60 Day in Jail

Marka Bodine will also spend the next 10 years on deferred adjudication probation which has the local community feeling like the sentence is too light. According to Texas Defense Law, deferred adjudication probation is usually offered to first time offenders and can be a sentence of between two years for a misdemeanor offenses and up to ten years for a felony.

Sentence to Lenient?

60 days in jail and a 10 year probation has many in the community asking why such a lenient sentence. FOX 26 reported that Quanell X has accused Harris County Judge Greg Glass of not being "qualified to protect the children of Houston and Harris County" and calling for his resignation.

Jana Oswald, Harris County Assistant District Attorney was looking for a 20 to 40 year sentence saying,

"given the seriousness of her crime and the lasting effects of the crime and the impact on the child’s life. Children are the most vulnerable members of our society. It is our duty to protect them, not harm them."

60 days in jail when the DA was asking for a minimum of 20 does seem too lenient. My personal believe is if that were a male teacher sexually abusing a student, they would have thrown the book at him.

I think the community has every right to be outraged in this case.

Bet You Didn't Know: 10 Bizarre Texas Laws Still on the Books

Many states still have strange laws on the books that aren’t enforced or taken seriously anymore, and Texas is no exception.

Most of these laws are just funny now, but at one time, there was a valid (or at least somewhat valid) reason for them to exist.

Texas has plenty of strange rules and regulations that you could technically be prosecuted for if you violate them, since they've never been amended. Some of these are only for specific cities and not state-wide, but all of them are pretty odd!

Let's take a look at 10 of the weirdest ones in the Lone Star State.

The Most Dangerous City in Texas for 2022 May Surprise You

According to FBI statistics, Texas had 438 violent crimes and 2,562 property crimes per 100,000 residents as of this year. For every 100,000 residents, there are 224 police officers statewide.

Crime rates are expressed as the number of incidents per 100,000 people.

More From KUSJ-FM