It's a sad day for Texans who hoped to freely travel to the East Coast.

According to a report from NBC New York, Texans traveling to New York, New Jersey or Connecticut will be asked to self-quarantine for 14 days after their arrival. East Coast governors announced on Wednesday that the mandatory quarantine is applying to states like Texas who have seen a recent spike in COVID-19.

While there is not a ban on travelers from Texas, the 14 day quarantine is mandatory and goes into effect at 11:59 PM ET on June 24.

"It's clear ... there is a problem in a number of other states and we have to be very careful about the impact that would have on New York," New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio said at a Wednesday news conference.

The following states will also be required to self-quarantine upon arrival into New York, New Jersey, or Connecticut.

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • Florida
  • North Carolina
  • South Caronlina
  • Washington
  • Utah

“We have to make sure the virus doesn't come in on a plane — again. Learned that lesson. Been there, done that,” New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo said. “It’s only for the simple reason that we worked very hard to get the viral transmission rate down, and we don't want to see it go up.”

Are you concerned that more states will follow the East Coast's lead and mandate quarantines for travelers from other states?

KUSJ-FM logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

Dogs Being Trained to Detect COVID-19


More From KUSJ-FM