Wednesday featured the first Bell County Commissioner's court of 2019 and history was made as part of the swearing in.
Patricia Duffield was sworn in as the first woman appointed and first women elected as a constable. Duffield spoke with KWTX News 10 and said, "The first woman appointed, the first woman elected as a constable. There are wonderful deputy constables but I am the first constable. I couldn't do this job without them, Tom Prado, Rolly Correa, Edd Melton. I couldn’t do this job without those men.”
Duffield becomes Bell County Constable Pct. 1 with 40 years of experience in law enforcement.
15 other officials were sworn in Wednesday including Bell County Judge, David Blackburn who takes over for Jon Burrows. Bobby Whitson becomes the commissioner for precinct 2 and John Driver is now the commissioner for precinct 4.

We welcome the following officials also sworn in on Wednesday: County Clerk-Shelley Coston, 169th- District Judge Gordon G. Adams, 264th - District Court Judge Paul LePak, District Clerk- Joanna Staton, County Court at Law Number 1 Judge Jeanne Parker, County Court at Law Number 2 John Mischtian, County Court at Law Number 3 Judge Rebecca DePew, County Treasurer- Gaylon Evans, Ted Duffield, Justice of the Peace Precinct 1, Cliff Coleman, Justice of the Peace Precinct 2, G.W. Ivey, Justice of the Peace Precinct 3, Place 2, William “Bill” Cooke, Justice of the Peace Precinct 4, Place 2.

More From KUSJ-FM