Okay, we all know what 911 is for, right? Emergencies!

Apparently, this lady did not get the memo. However, she probably does need some help now.

A Bosque County woman has been arrested after calling Bosque County Dispatch more than 50 times with non-emergency calls.

According to our news partner KWTX, Bridget Nicole Beard called dispatch on Saturday, March 19th and would not speak when asked if there was an emergency. The Bosque County Sheriff’s Office was able to find her by tracking the cell phone she was using to a location on Norway Street in Walnut Springs.

After deputies determined that there was no actual emergency, Beard was arrested and transported to Bosque County Jail and charged with Abuse of 911.

Get our free mobile app

What Happens When You Call 911 Then Hang Up

While there is no penalty for an accidental phone call to 911, calling 911 for a false emergency is a Class B misdemeanor in Texas. This crime is punishable by up to 180 days in jail, a fine up to $2,000, or both. This is to prevent people from abusing the emergency line.

If you or someone using your phone dials 911 by accident, it's important not to panic and hang up!

According to the National 911 Program, this could cause dispatchers to believe there is an emergency and send first responders to your location. Mistakes happen. Stay on the line and explain the situation.

Why 911 is for Emergencies Only

911 is reserved for emergency use, and if you call for any other reason, it wastes time and resources that could be needed for actual emergencies.

If you are unsure when to use 911, remember that if you think a life is in danger, it's much better to make the call for help, even if it turns out to be unnecessary.

However, if someone has broken into your car, you have noisy neighbors, or need directions, it's not time to use 911. Call your local police on the non-emergency line!

 

Bet You Didn't Know: 10 Bizarre Texas Laws Still on the Books

Many states still have strange laws on the books that aren’t enforced or taken seriously anymore, and Texas is no exception.

Most of these laws are just funny now, but at one time, there was a valid (or at least somewhat valid) reason for them to exist.

Texas has plenty of strange rules and regulations that you could technically be prosecuted for if you violate them, since they've never been amended. Some of these are only for specific cities and not state-wide, but all of them are pretty odd!

Let's take a look at 10 of the weirdest ones in the Lone Star State.

The Most Dangerous City in Texas for 2022 May Surprise You

According to FBI statistics, Texas had 438 violent crimes and 2,562 property crimes per 100,000 residents as of this year. For every 100,000 residents, there are 224 police officers statewide.

Crime rates are expressed as the number of incidents per 100,000 people.

Did You Know Texas Is One of the Top 10 Haunted States in the Nation?

Two years ago, the Lone Star State was named the most haunted state in America, according to Forbes magazine.

Texas has moved down on the list from movebuddha.com, but we're still in the top 10.

Don't be scared...scroll onward to see which state currently holds the #1 spot for most haunted in the nation.

More From KUSJ-FM