How did Texas end up with 254 different counties? Well, we can start with thanking the Spanish!

The Spanish set up the early settlements that have lasted in one way or another, through every one of the six flags that have flown over the land we now call Texas. These settlements became the first counties in the state.

The Republic of Texas began with 23 counties in 1836. The last of the 254 counties to be created in Texas was Kenedy County in 1921. Bell County dates back to 1850.

When you go from the Spanish to Mexican rule, the Republic of Texas, the United States, The Confederate States of America, then back to union, you can imagine how many times the land has been divided up All of these things contributed to Texas having more counties than any other state in the USA.

Still curious? The video above gives a pretty good explanation, albeit a little corny.